Starting Over Again a Writer

IMG_9456 copy.jpg
Getting there slowly but surely.

Becoming who we are is slow and convoluted and the titles we give ourselves are at least somewhat arbitrary. I’m writing a novel (another though none are published). But am I a writer?

First a farm girl growing up a tom boy staring at the stars in frigid winter nights and scribbling words on paper in the rare lull mid-day; then a mathematician, then a physicist, undergrad, masters, then phd; next a postdoc and onto willful unemployment to take a crack at writing. After all that time of training in hard sciences and numbers, I left to write a novel.

Too much pressure, too much time, neither that I used wisely, and I was back in Vancouver looking for focus and fell into yet another chapter: half time neuroscience, peeking into data science, and back outside for climbing, skiing. Dating. (Focus I did not find).

Amid all of this, how do I become a writer? When do I earn that title?

This post exists because of  Gabriela Pereira whom I discovered (and eventually met—virtually) over three years ago via her site diymfa.com, an online writing resource and community. In the next few months until her book DIY MFA launches, I’m happy to join her Street Team and post some reflections about writing outside the school system, and writing and learning more generally.

This week’s question: Why DIY my MFA?

Apart from DIY being all the hipster rage out there, if there’s one thing I’ve learned from too much school, it’s how to learn.

I love school. As my grandmother once said: I’m still in school. But a big part of me thinks MFA programs are a sham; another (irrational!) part thinks I should just be able to write; but mostly I realize that to become a good writer,  I have to write.

And read (broadly). And, because I’m lucky, surround myself with other writers struggling along different arcs of the (learning) curve. And live: fill the well, pile onto the compost, keep a finger on the pulse of the world, of my world. This does slow me down, but it also keeps me sane.

Specifics: I’ve been tinkering in deliberate practice (those the 10000 hrs to become an expert, arguably irrelevant as a goal but the intentions are good), or flow as Mihaly puts it, reading on universal archetypes and mythology, the hero’s journey, and too too many ways to plan a novel (also known as procrastination): I’ll share in upcoming posts what I’ve liked best.

Who else is out there diy’ing? Let’s share notes!

4 thoughts on “Starting Over Again a Writer

  1. If I had another life I would maybe have got an MFA rather than an MA in Applied Linguistics and TESOL, why I chose the more practical program is a whole essay in itself! But now I want to write and use the word writer about myself. So DIY is the way to go. It costs less although all the books on writing I keep buying aren’t cheap.

  2. Hi Lara! Awesome post about self-directed learning. Especially love the 10K hours to become an expert. Our latest podcast episode (#89) features psychology professor Anders Ericsson talking about the science behind expertise, and I think your scientific mind will LOVE what he has to say! Thanks so much for the shout-out. Keep writing and keep being awesome. 🙂

    1. Exciting! I was too impatient for his book Peak that I went back to his 1993 paper, ‘The Role of Deliberate Practice in the Acquisition of Expert Performance.’ Thanks for sharing the podcast: I’ll check it out :).

Leave a Reply

